VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi Guys

I have very little experience with video recording except for the grandchildren affairs

I am a Radio Control airplane flyer and have been using my Flip camcorder in a HATCAM for the ground work .That seems to be working very well .I believe the Flip camcorder is a MP4 format .

My problem is with my spy cameras that I put onboard the airplane for flying video .The video frames stop for several seconds while the audio continues .Can it be it is not writing fast enough ?

Is there an inexpensive program to capure both formats so I can edit both of them together ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RFvfUjpUhek

Thanks
    Charlie
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Could you give us a link to the 'spy' camera? Is it recording the video in the plane or transmitting it to a ground receiver?

Most times these types of video aren't 'captured', just transferred to the computer from the camera memory or from a memory card. If the video is incomplete from those sources, you have a problem, but with the camera or the storage.

MP4 is a generic term for a family of video formats. Maybe Xvid, maybe something else. MediaInfo will give you the codec used and the real video/audio format.

Usually you can't edit different formats together. But you can convert them to the same different format, then you should be able to easily edit them.

Most highly compressed formats like Xvid or H.264 aren't made for frame accurate editing. But you can convert them to a format that is easier to edit. If you just need to do rough cut and paste, there are quite a few editors out there. AVIDemux is popular, and also VirtualDub.

Give us a bit more information and you will likely get better advice.

And welcome to our forums.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi Red

Thanks for your prompt reply.