VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Does anyone know any free software that will work with this card for capturing composite video and RCA audio? I have no idea how to work with the included WinTV software, or if it even works with Windows 7.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have this card & use the software that came with it to transfer VHS to MPEG2, but I'm using XP. This is now a rather old card and my not work with 7. Have you gone on Hauppauge's web site to see if there is an update?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    The PVR 150 used a different chip set from the PVR 250 and 350 models. As a result I've heard rumors that some 3rd party capture programs did work with this model (they don't work with the 250 and 350) but as I am a 350 owner I have no personal experience with this. WinTV is pretty intuitive to use. Hauppauge has some online docs that might help you, but since you've been a member almost 8 years here and have over 100 posts to your account, I'm thinking you probably can figure it out on your own. However, because this card is old it may not work with Windows 7. Windows 7 does have a compatibility mode and you might need to run this as a Win XP program using that compatibility mode. I can tell you from the 350 model that sometimes when capturing VHS or laserdisc input that you may have to cycle through all the input choices before you find the one it's actually using (ie. it may be using EXT2 and if you only check EXT1 you won't find it). And sometimes getting audio to work with capture cards can be a little tricky and you may have to check your audio settings under Windows 7 and be sure that no inputs are muted.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Here is the software support site for the PVR-150.

WinTV6 works for Win7 32 bit but currently not for 64 bit (last I heard).
    http://www.hauppauge.com/site/support/support_pvr150.html
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.