VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello all! So, I am a complete amateur when it comes to working with video, whether it's authoring, capturing, converting, or what-have-you, but I'm working on slowly fixing that by first familiarizing myself with all of the requisite equipment involved, and by conducting a few "tests" along the way.

To start off with, I have a large ISO image file (about 4.5GB in size) of a movie, which I burned on a Memorex DVD-RW (4.7GB) using BurnAware Free, using the 'Burn Image' option. I then stuck the burned DVD into my home theater system (all Panasonic, bought from and installed by Best Buy), but the TV screen flashed 'Cannot Play' the DVD, as did the DVD player. Thinking that I had perhaps burned the ISO file incorrectly (hence why I chose to burn it on a DVD-RW in the first place), I next stuck the DVD back into my laptop (MacBook Pro, but I was using the Windows partition at the time), on which it played beautifully. However, not yet completely satisfied as to the quality of the burned DVD, I then took the DVD to my bedroom, where I have a smaller Vizio TV hooked up to a LG DVD player (TV bought here in the US; LG player bought abroad, in Asia). On this DVD player, the DVD also played, although it would continuously freeze and then move on every few seconds or so. Any ideas as to what may be going on wrong? Ultimately, I want the burned DVD to be able to play on the Panasonic system.