VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm not an expert by any means but it seems that the more I think I know the more I find that I don;t know squat. Case in point is the number of "container" types. I thought that simply looking at the file extension you've got it nailed, but par-dem-wha! Not the case. A stated .AVI can contain variations of the digitized video stream. I have used GSpot for trying to recognize these issues but it has become a bit confusing. In taking this information and trying to match up codec's is again something akin to black magic as well.

SO here's question.

How frequent is it, that video containers are constructed with custom innerds? And the ancillary question is, once you determined what you need exaclty how do you find the matching codec's? Brother, don't get me started on how you install these bad boys as well. Do you need a special handshake with brutus? Pay off the neighborhood bookie? What? Man this needs to be streamlined!

What am I missing here?
    ZOK4me2000
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You are missing the bit that stops you making it more complicated than it really is.

First, start using mediainfo for identifying the codec. It handles a lot more containers and codecs than g-spot, and is updated and maintained far more frequently. The Tree View is probably the clearest.

Second, if the biggest issue is playback, start with FFDShow. This will cover playback of most codecs with minimal fuss.

If you do need to install a specific codec, start in our Tools section (menu to your left) as it contains links to all the major codecs.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. MPCHC, VLC, or KMPlayer will get you the ability to play almost everything. Haali + ffdshow will allow WMP to play almost everything except quicktime files (.MP4, .MOV). For that you can use QuickTimeAlternative.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM