VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 32
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    I know that libfaac has been removed from ffmpeg and is supported through external library.

    I understand that I need to copy libfaac.dll in the same directory where ffmpeg.exe is. But it is not working. My OS is Windows XP.

    I can use the ffmpeg.exe which is distributed with winff, but latest presets won't work. I tried to building my own with mingw and is too much to me. I will try again.

    Can some one help how to get this dynamic loading thing working.

    Sorry for bad english.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    problem solved.

    Now I know where to get the ffmpeg windows binary with this dynamic loading of libfaac.dll can be downloaded. It is not in official builds.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Where did you get this build and where did you get the dll? I am trying to solve this same problem using ffmpeg on Windows.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Both ffmpeg and libfaac can be downloaded from here. Mencoder also supports libfaac dynamic loading. I have placed ffmpeg, mencoder and libfaac in one directory.

    http://oss.netfarm.it/mplayer-win32.php
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Sorry, I know this post is a bit old, but this (libfaac) did not work for me.

    As he states here at http://oss.netfarm.it/mplayer-win32.php and scrolling down to the section that reads:

    "faac encoder is not included in MEncoder and FFmpeg package due to licensing problems, you should download separately this archive and unpack the dll (with e.g. 7zip) in the directory in which the executable lies (as shown in the picture)."

    I have installed MPlayer and FFmpeg, and I have placed FFmpeg, MPlayer and the "libfaac.dll" in the one directory. I still end up with Unknown encoder 'libfaac' when running a simple conversion at the command prompt.

    Any help appreciated please?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Aug 2001
    Location: UK
    Search Comp PM
    It's Working fine for me.

    Post your command line.
    Quote Quote  
  7. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    You might just use faac.exe instead of an uncommon build of ffmpeg

    http://www.rarewares.org/aac-encoders.php
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by mh2360 View Post
    It's Working fine for me.

    Post your command line.
    There are no problems with my command lines because every other audio codec works, such as libmp3lame et cetera. But if I put in "-acodec libfaac" I get the error.

    Where did you download you version of FFmpeg? Did you put the libfaac.dll in with it in the same directory?

    Thanks, El Heggunte. I downloaded and tried out "faac.exe" and found it works well. However, I still would like to get this libfaac.dll thing working just to see.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date: Aug 2001
    Location: UK
    Search Comp PM
    I have used ffmpeg from http://oss.netfarm.it/mplayer-win32.php for years.

    I download FFmpeg and libfaac from the site:

    FFmpeg:
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/mplayer-win32/files/FFmpeg/git-N-28849-ga82cfad/FFmpeg...ad.7z/download

    libfaac.dll:
    libfaac-1.28.7z under "[Misc files]" at the bottom.

    As you say, just put them both in the same directory, and libfaac works fine.
    Last edited by mh2360; 23rd May 2011 at 07:18.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks a lot! It works!

    The problem was, I had downloaded FFmpeg from other links. I had about 2 or 3 versions. All worked for other encoders under Windows, but the libfaac.dll was not compiled for them or vice versa. BTW, it must have been for older versions. The latest version of FFmpeg does not need it. I tried it without it and it still works.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Hi wsc4:

    I got the latest build from following website "http://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds/". I am using the following command.
    "ffmpeg.exe -y -i 1.mov -threads 2 -r 29.969999 -g 300 -acodec libvo_aacenc -ab 48k -s 320x244 -vcodec libx264 -flags +loop -cmp +chroma -partitions +parti4x4+partp8x8+partb8x8 -flags2 +mixed_refs -me_method umh -subq 5 -trellis 1 -refs 5 -coder 0 -me_range 16 -keyint_min 25 -sc_threshold 40 -i_qfactor 0.71 -b:v 512k -bt 12k -maxrate 1400k -bufsize 3M -rc_eq blurCplx^(1-qComp) -qcomp 0.6 -qmin 10 -qmax 51 -qdiff 4 -level 13 1.mp4"

    So is "libvo_aacenc" is the replacement for libfacc?

    Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by velagac View Post
    Hi wsc4:

    I got the latest build from following website "http://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds/". I am using the following command.
    "ffmpeg.exe -y -i 1.mov -threads 2 -r 29.969999 -g 300 -acodec libvo_aacenc -ab 48k -s 320x244 -vcodec libx264 -flags +loop -cmp +chroma -partitions +parti4x4+partp8x8+partb8x8 -flags2 +mixed_refs -me_method umh -subq 5 -trellis 1 -refs 5 -coder 0 -me_range 16 -keyint_min 25 -sc_threshold 40 -i_qfactor 0.71 -b:v 512k -bt 12k -maxrate 1400k -bufsize 3M -rc_eq blurCplx^(1-qComp) -qcomp 0.6 -qmin 10 -qmax 51 -qdiff 4 -level 13 1.mp4"

    So is "libvo_aacenc" is the replacement for libfacc?

    Thanks in advance.
    Hi
    Latest build FFmpeg from ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds has been compiled with
    "configuration: --enable-libvo-aacenc"
    so that this codec can be used.

    It's not exactly a replacement, more like an alternative (imo).
    Quote Quote  
  13. Hi bat99

    if I want to use libfaac, How can I do that?

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    ...
    Last edited by bat999; 19th Oct 2011 at 14:21.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    It shows that libfaac isn't on the list.
    So probably you can't use libfaac with "zeranoe" compiles.

    If you want to use libfaac, use a different compile of FFmpeg with the libfaac.dll file. See post #4 etc.
    It is hard to see where FFmpeg is on that site as it is mainly about MPlayer / MEncoder. Here is the direct link:

    https://sourceforge.net/projects/mplayer-win32/files/FFmpeg/git-N-32754-g936d4d4/
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Actually, I've found that "libfaac" isn't that good after all. I started experimenting with MEncoder first and found the sound to be very poor using libfaac, even with bitrates of 96 to 128 kbps. FFmpeg's was slightly better as was the stand alone faac.exe. Strange, libfaac and faac.exe are more or less the same and all from the same author and dated 2001. Version 1.28 seems to be the only one released. From audiocoding.com: "Note that the quality of FAAC is not up to par with the currently best AAC encoders available."

    I decided to try out the Nero AAC command line AAC encoder from audiocoding.com and really found a dramatic improvement in the sound quality. So much so, that I'll be using this encoder from now on for aac audio. This will require more work because I'll have to re-mux the sound back in for videos. Has anyone used pipes with faac.exe or neroAacEnc.exe for FFmpeg or MEncoder?
    Last edited by wsc4; 28th Oct 2011 at 20:34. Reason: added bold + italics
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by wsc4 View Post
    ... Has anyone used pipes with faac.exe or neroAacEnc.exe for FFmpeg...
    Yes


    Using FFmpeg with faac-1.28 or neroAacEnc-1.5.4.0


    Code:
    ffmpeg -i foo.flac -f wav - | faac -w -q 170 -o foo1.m4a -
    or

    Code:
    ffmpeg -i foo.flac -f wav - | neroAacEnc -ignorelength -q 0.5 -if - -of foo2.m4a
    For 'quality' values look here:-
    Code:
    faac --long-help
    and here:-
    Code:
    neroAacEnc -help
    Code:
    General #0
    Complete name                : foo1.m4a
    Format                       : MPEG-4
    Format/Info                  : ISO 14496-1 version 2
    Format/Family                : MPEG-4
    File size                    : 3.01 MiB
    PlayTime                     : 1mn 25s
    Bit rate                     : 296 Kbps
    StreamSize                   : 32.3 KiB
    Encoded date                 : UTC 2011-10-28 16:36:08
    Tagged date                  : UTC 2011-10-28 16:36:31
    Writing application          : FAAC 1.28
    
    Audio #0
    Codec                        : AAC LC
    Codec/Family                 : AAC
    Codec/Info                   : AAC Low Complexity
    PlayTime                     : 1mn 25s
    Bit rate mode                : VBR
    Bit rate                     : 288 Kbps
    Maximum bit rate             : 333 Kbps
    Channel(s)                   : 2 channels
    Channel positions            : L R
    Sampling rate                : 96.0 KHz
    Resolution                   : 16 bits
    StreamSize                   : 2.98 MiB
    Encoded date                 : UTC 2011-10-28 16:36:08
    Tagged date                  : UTC 2011-10-28 16:36:31
    -------------------------------------------------------------

    Code:
    General #0
    Complete name                : foo2.m4a
    Format                       : MPEG-4
    Format/Info                  : ISO 14496-1 version 2
    Format/Family                : MPEG-4
    File size                    : 3.18 MiB
    PlayTime                     : 1mn 25s
    Bit rate                     : 313 Kbps
    StreamSize                   : 34.7 KiB
    Encoded date                 : UTC 2011-10-28 16:37:54
    Tagged date                  : UTC 2011-10-28 16:38:09
    cdec                         : ndaudio 1.5.4.0 / -q 0.50
    Writing application          : Nero AAC codec / 1.5.4.0
    
    Audio #0
    Codec                        : AAC LC
    Codec/Family                 : AAC
    Codec/Info                   : AAC Low Complexity
    PlayTime                     : 1mn 25s
    Bit rate mode                : VBR
    Bit rate                     : 310 Kbps
    Maximum bit rate             : 321 Kbps
    Channel(s)                   : 2 channels
    Channel positions            : L R
    Sampling rate                : 96.0 KHz
    Resolution                   : 16 bits
    StreamSize                   : 3.15 MiB
    Encoded date                 : UTC 2011-10-28 16:37:54
    Tagged date                  : UTC 2011-10-28 16:38:09
    Samples are here - - -> http://www.mediafire.com/?nnjqjoc752gm22u

    neroAacEnc sounds better than faac (in my humble opinion)
    Last edited by bat999; 28th Oct 2011 at 19:43. Reason: Added samples.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks very much for that. Very detailed and presented very well. It's been a great help. I've copied your commands for reference and will download those samples.

    I had no idea about the stdin and stdout "-" option and using it with the pipe "|" redirector.

    I'll experiment with a number of audio files first, and then move onto video / audio. The one thing I will watch for is A/V sync, but I'm used to that and know the workarounds.

    Thanks again!
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    Originally Posted by wsc4 View Post
    ... Has anyone used pipes with faac.exe or neroAacEnc.exe for FFmpeg...
    Yes


    Using FFmpeg with faac-1.28 or neroAacEnc-1.5.4.0


    Code:
    ffmpeg -i foo.flac -f wav - | faac -w -q 170 -o foo1.m4a -
    or

    Code:
    ffmpeg -i foo.flac -f wav - | neroAacEnc -ignorelength -q 0.5 -if - -of foo2.m4a
    For 'quality' values look here:-
    Code:
    faac --long-help
    and here:-
    Code:
    neroAacEnc -help
    Code:
    General #0
    Complete name                : foo1.m4a
    Format                       : MPEG-4
    Format/Info                  : ISO 14496-1 version 2
    Format/Family                : MPEG-4
    File size                    : 3.01 MiB
    PlayTime                     : 1mn 25s
    Bit rate                     : 296 Kbps
    StreamSize                   : 32.3 KiB
    Encoded date                 : UTC 2011-10-28 16:36:08
    Tagged date                  : UTC 2011-10-28 16:36:31
    Writing application          : FAAC 1.28
    
    Audio #0
    Codec                        : AAC LC
    Codec/Family                 : AAC
    Codec/Info                   : AAC Low Complexity
    PlayTime                     : 1mn 25s
    Bit rate mode                : VBR
    Bit rate                     : 288 Kbps
    Maximum bit rate             : 333 Kbps
    Channel(s)                   : 2 channels
    Channel positions            : L R
    Sampling rate                : 96.0 KHz
    Resolution                   : 16 bits
    StreamSize                   : 2.98 MiB
    Encoded date                 : UTC 2011-10-28 16:36:08
    Tagged date                  : UTC 2011-10-28 16:36:31
    -------------------------------------------------------------

    Code:
    General #0
    Complete name                : foo2.m4a
    Format                       : MPEG-4
    Format/Info                  : ISO 14496-1 version 2
    Format/Family                : MPEG-4
    File size                    : 3.18 MiB
    PlayTime                     : 1mn 25s
    Bit rate                     : 313 Kbps
    StreamSize                   : 34.7 KiB
    Encoded date                 : UTC 2011-10-28 16:37:54
    Tagged date                  : UTC 2011-10-28 16:38:09
    cdec                         : ndaudio 1.5.4.0 / -q 0.50
    Writing application          : Nero AAC codec / 1.5.4.0
    
    Audio #0
    Codec                        : AAC LC
    Codec/Family                 : AAC
    Codec/Info                   : AAC Low Complexity
    PlayTime                     : 1mn 25s
    Bit rate mode                : VBR
    Bit rate                     : 310 Kbps
    Maximum bit rate             : 321 Kbps
    Channel(s)                   : 2 channels
    Channel positions            : L R
    Sampling rate                : 96.0 KHz
    Resolution                   : 16 bits
    StreamSize                   : 3.15 MiB
    Encoded date                 : UTC 2011-10-28 16:37:54
    Tagged date                  : UTC 2011-10-28 16:38:09
    Samples are here - - -> http://www.mediafire.com/?nnjqjoc752gm22u

    neroAacEnc sounds better than faac (in my humble opinion)

    thanks a lot for the tip.

    do you have similar command line, to encode video with libx264, audio with neroaac to produce mp4

    actually nero aac is very good
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by chicken264 View Post
    do you have similar command line, to encode video with libx264, audio with neroaac to produce mp4
    I thought this would be simple to do in one fell swoop on the command line. Something like this:

    Code:
    ffmpeg -i INPUT.AVI -an -f avi -vcodec libx264 <options> <pipe> ffmpeg -i INPUT.AVI -f wav - | neroaacenc -ignorelengh -if - -of OUTPUT.MP4
    I tried all sorts of stdout / stdin and pipes with no luck. I think you have to do it in 3 steps. First encode the audio using nero, then encode the video using libx264, then mux the audio back into the video using FFmpeg. Can all this be done in one step please?
    Quote Quote  
  21. Hi, would be anybody able to help me find some specific build/compilation of ffmpeg, in which AAC encoder (libfaac.dll) and also x.264 will work well?

    Thank you very much.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Hi,
    I`m trying to use ffmpeg N-32754-g936d4d4-Sherpya and encoder for AAC faac.exe v1.28

    On input I have a video test-DR.avi:
    Input #0, avi, from 'c:\test\in\test-FR.avi':
    Duration: 00:00:25.22, start: 0.000000, bitrate: 1331 kb/s
    Stream #0.0: Video: h264 (High) (H264 / 0x34363248), yuv420p, 960x720 [SAR 1:1 DAR 4:3], 29.97 fps, 29.97 tbr, 29.97 tbn, 59.94 tbc
    Stream #0.1: Audio: mp3 (U[0][0][0] / 0x0055), 48000 Hz, stereo, s16, 192 kb

    I need to get it into mp4 container with AAC sound.


    I`m trying this launching command:

    c:\test\ffmpeg2\ffmpeg.exe -i c:\test\in\test-FR.avi -vcodec copy -acodec faac -w -q 100 -o c:\test\out\out.mp4


    But it says:


    Code:
    C:\test\ffmpeg2>c:\test\ffmpeg2\ffmpeg.exe -i c:\test\in\test-FR.avi -vcodec  cop
    y -acodec faac -w -q 100 -o c:\test\out\out.mp4
    ffmpeg version  N-32754-g936d4d4-Sherpya, Copyright (c) 2000-2011 the FFmpeg  deve
    lopers
    built on Sep 21 2011 13:48:46 with gcc 4.2.5 20090330  (prerelease) [Sherpya]
    libavutil 51. 16. 1 / 51. 16. 1
    libavcodec 53. 16.  0 / 53. 16. 0
    libavformat 53. 12. 0 / 53. 12. 0
    libavdevice 53. 4. 0 / 53.  4. 0
    libavfilter 2. 43. 2 / 2. 43. 2
    libswscale 2. 1. 0 / 2. 1.  0
    libpostproc 51. 2. 0 / 51. 2. 0
    [avi @ 019376c0] max_analyze_duration  5000000 reached at 5016000
    Input #0, avi, from  'c:\test\in\test-FR.avi':
    Duration: 00:00:25.22, start: 0.000000, bitrate:  1331 kb/s
    Stream #0.0: Video: h264 (High) (H264 / 0x34363248), yuv420p,  960x720 [SAR 1
    :1 DAR 4:3], 29.97 fps, 29.97 tbr, 29.97 tbn, 59.94  tbc
    Stream #0.1: Audio: mp3 (U[0][0][0] / 0x0055), 48000 Hz, stereo, s16, 192  kb
    /s
    Unrecognized option 'w'
    Failed to set value '-q' for option 'w'
    What am I doing wrong? How the command should look like?

    Thank you very much for any advice!
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by sandrushe View Post
    What am I doing wrong?
    Thank you very much for any advice!
    Look up ---^ and start at post #1
    Quote Quote  
  24. I read it all, but I`m sorry, I just don`t see it

    I have tried all compilations of ffmpeg for windows that I have found here and tried it both with libfaac.dll and faac.exe v1.28 and everytime it failed to encode AAC in ffmpeg.

    So I don`t know what exactly I do wrong and if there isn`t any specific command to say ffmpeg to load aac encoder (libfaac.dll or faac.exe) that I didn`t use or used it wrong...
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2007
    Location: Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Unrecognized option 'w'
    Failed to set value '-q' for option 'w'
    probably you used wrong command line

    in bat999's example the -w was used in the pipe for neroaac, not ffmpeg
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    You are using the correct version of FFmpeg:-
    N-32754-g936d4d4-Sherpya

    Put the file "libfaac.dll" in the same folder as "ffmpeg.exe".
    cd to the folder, then use a command like this:-
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i c:\test\in\test-FR.avi -vcodec copy -acodec libfaac -aq 150 out.mp4
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    As stated before, I only use Nero. However, I see that the Zeranoe builds use "libvo_aacenc" while the Sherpya builds use "libfaac". I would be interested to know where the "libvo_aacenc" derived from? Who owns the license, and has anyone tested this out and compared it?
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by wsc4 View Post
    ... has anyone tested this out and compared it?
    Hi
    Test it with commands like this:-
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i foo.flac -acodec libvo_aacenc -ab 320k foo.m4a
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks, but I know how to use commands, and I have have not downloaded a Zeranoe build yet. Just thought someone has already compared them. BTW, this would be low bitrates; 64k, 48k, and 32k.
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    For what it's worth, "libvo_aacenc" is the library that is based on a codec implementation by VisualOn.

    Anyhow, I have tried out the Zeranoe build with -acodec libvo_aacenc -ab 64k and found it to be very good. IMHO, it is far better than libfaac. I tested both out and compared them with a high quality music PCM file.

    If I had to do a quick encode and could not be bothered with piping to Nero, I would use this build. Also, Sherpya builds skimp on the documentation and do not have ffplay nor ffprobe.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads