VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have Epson R220's and do a lot of DVD printing. I'm getting the following message: "Service Required", "Parts inside your printer are near the end of their service life. See your printer documentation." It's still working. Anyone ever see this message before. I have not. Is there any "fix" or just toss when it stops printing?
    Depends what the definition of the word inhale is.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Off the top of my head I would guess that any repair work would probably cost very close the cost of just replacing it. I work in IT and a few years a co-worker told me that any time he has a printer problem, he just throws it away and buys a new one. He never tries to fix it. He said that new printers always drop in price and they're always better and cheaper than whatever he used to have. That's really good advice and it's served me well over the years. Just something to think about if nobody has a better answer for you.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    have you tried (ssc service utility) it should be a free download
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I downloaded http://www.ssclg.com/download/sscserve.exe and installed the utility, but it did not fix my problem. I'm still getting a "Service Required" message.
    Last edited by videobread; 21st Jun 2010 at 08:56.
    Quote Quote  
  5. I put this exact error/warning message into the search of www.fixyourownprinter.com, and received this workaround for the Epson RX620. Might or might not work for yours, but there were a lot of posts at this site about this error message covering a whole slew of Epsons.

To clear the error message and reset the printer - Hold down the STOP and the B&W Start buttons while powering on the printer. This should clear the error message and reset the printer.
    What does your documentation say about this message?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member