VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am converting a mkv. movie with tsmuxer and then img burn to put it on a dual layer dvd. I am new to this but have converted a couple mkv. files to bluray and they worked fine. One movie is squished when I play it back on my bdp2500 set top bluray player. It is like it is 16:9 squished to 4:3. My aspect ratio is correct on my bluray player and TV. It plays fine on my computer with media player or VLC.

Has anyone had this happen?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Check your mkv files with mediainfo. My guess is that they are not AVCHD compliant. TSMuxer will happily author them, but they will not play back correctly. For 720p material the resolution must be 1280 x 720. For 1080 material it must 1920 x 1080. My suspicion is that your files have had the letterbox or pillarbox bars cropped off, and these will have to be put back (meaning a re-encode) before you can author a playable disc.

Options :

Cropmkv - will add the missing bars and re-encode the video, giving you an mkv ready to author with TSMuxer.

Multi-AVCHD - from the same author as cropmkv (cropmkv is a subset of Multi-AVCHD), this will add back the bars, re-encode, add menus (if you want) and author an AVCHD structure for several different playback formats.

AVCHDCoder - an alternative AVCHD encoder/authoring tool.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks a bunch I will try it out.

Also it seems like many mkv come to be 4.71gb after I use tsmuxer. Is there an easy way to make it a little smaller so it fits on a 4.7gb disc?
    Quote Quote  
  4. aa
    Last edited by heckybaby; 29th May 2010 at 02:19.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Yep. If you look at the resolution you will notice that it is 1280 x 544, which is not compliant. You need to add the missing letterbox bars to bring the resolution up to 1280 x 720.