VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. I'm starting to put together my list of parts for a new PC build. One of the main functions of it will be for video editing. I also do some graphical work, web design, gaming, etc. It needs to be pretty well rounded and I'm trying to make sure it lasts me a while. My current Dell Dimension has done me for about 7 years but it's getting slow. I'll post my parts list and see if any one has any input. One main question I have is about RAID arrays. I was thinking of a RAID 5 array across 4 drives. I like to make Paragon backups as well. I haven't done much with RAID in the past so I'm new to this. I was wondering if it would be more efficient to use a single HDD for my primary boot drive and programing that I can easily back up with Paragon and then a 4 drive RAID5 array for storage. Any input is appreciated.

Attached PDF has my parts list.

Thanks.
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Get Western Digital 150gb VelociRaptor for your boot drive. Then get larger capacity drives for storage like the WD Black drives 640gb, 1TB or even the WD Green drives since they're low in heat and power.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136296

Get some good 120mm fans for your CM HAF 932 case. Scythe S-Flex series is good but expensive. Also the Scythe Gentle Typhoon fans are suppose to be good too. If you want inexpensive fans get some Yate Loon medium and high speed fans from Petra's tech shop. They are the only one's the sell legit Yate Loon fans. They get them directly from the Yate Loon factory in China. The Cooler Master R4 fans are good too which you can get from Newegg but the one's that are 90cfm are led fans. Amazon has one that isn't led.

http://www.petrastechshop.com/12yalod1cafa1.html

http://www.petrastechshop.com/12yalod1cafa2.html

http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-120mm-Case-R4-C2R-20AC-GP/dp/B0026ZPFDE/ref=sr_1_3...3949067&sr=1-3