VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Does anyone know how to easily convert WTV files to TRP files?

I want to watch TV shows recorded by Windows Media Player (at home) using my set top box that records in TRP (onto a USB stick) at my holiday house.

There seem to be programs to convert TRP files into other formats but they are not what I need.

I am a novice in this area. Any help would be appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Convert to ts(try DVRMSToolbox to mpg and then to ts with tsmuxer or google "wtv to") and then try http://translate.google.com/translate?js=y&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&layout=1&eotf=1&u=ht...D1&sl=de&tl=en
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    DVRMStoMPEGGUI (from DVRMSToolbox) worked correctly for some of my files files but not others. For me, TSConverter did a better job at times than DVRMStoMPEGGUI from DVRMSToolbox, or VideoReDo. Those sometimes made the video in the .mpg files they produced look like there was poor reception at the time the recording was made, even though the original .wtv or DVR-MS files looked fine.

If DVRMSToolbox doesn't work, try converting from .wtv to DVR-MS using the built-in Windows utility then use TSConverter to create a .mpg or .ts file. TSConverter isn't perfect, but in the end it worked. I would expect you can find something that can convert .mpg or .ts to TRP.

When I used TSConverter to convert some 480i DVR-MS files to .mpg, it produced dozens of empty error message windows, but finished the conversion anyway, and the resulting files played nicely. The same happened when I used it to convert from .DVR-MS to .ts.