VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    To the point: Does the analog signal for television in Japan operate at a higher frequency than in North America? If so, does this signal also exist on recorded-off-the-air VHS tapes? And how can I get the tape to play correctly in an American VCR?

The story:

So I studied abroad in Japan for a few months and when I was over there, I recorded a VHS tape full of random stuff off of random channels the cable television the "international" dorm was getting. (They had VCRs on all of the televisions in the dorm lounges.) If I remember right, the medium delivering the channels was a coaxial cable.

I had heard that Japanese and American VHS tapes and VCRs were fully compatible with each other, so at the time, I was thinking that I could play the tape when I got back home.

Well... I've had the tape for a little while, and I just recently tried to capture it, so I could get the more interesting clips from the tape. (VCR -> DVD recorder (signal upscaled to 480p and then sent along component cables) -> Hauppauge HD PVR 1212 -> Samsung 40" LCD TV)

...And nothing showed up. I've pretty much been able to capture anything I want with this setup, but this is the first time I haven't been able to capture something. I omitted everything in between and hooked the VCR straight to the television, and FINALLY I got a picture and sound.

I tried it with two VCRs and on both I got tons of white fuzz with a very faint outline of the image while the audio was very high-pitched. (Though I could still tell it was Japanese audio.) The tracking did nothing but make it slightly better.