VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi all,

After a long stugle with my system I decided to uninstall all my codecs and codec components and clean my registry files,
    and at this point I am not able to play any movies on my system...,
    I was wondering if someone could suggest a reliable codec pack for windows 7 x64, I am just getting into video editing and hoping to speed things up using a 64 bit system ..., but I found myslef having all kinds of problems and confusion, things that normally worked in 32 bit os seemed to get all f*** up in the 64 bit os..... I am editing my stuff in sony vegas 64 and trying to take advantage over 64 bit os, and recently I decided that I have to make a choice and choose the right video editing application and stick with it and that's my goal but here i have to spend all this unnecessary time trying to figure out whats and how the damn codecs gonna work on my system...,
    I need xvid to work in vegas and in AE, I got the one working in vegas so far but its not working in AE cs4 ,
    I got a tone of footage in hd that I gotta process and it seems like im stuck trying to match a working codec pack for my system.
    Looking forward to your replies.

thanks.
    Cheers
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    None of them.

Have you tried the one or two 64-bit versions of Xvid? I'm not sure where to find it (can't even remember where I found it!), but there should be a few links to it elsewhere on this forum. Also, you may want to try the 64-bit version of ffdshow (though you might also need to use the 32-bit version as well...)
    If cameras add ten pounds, why would people want to eat them?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    thanks, I got the 64 bit xvid installed and working only in Vegas though.
    I am just about to install the newest ffdshow, why would I need to install the 32 bit version though ??? I wanna forget about 32 bit environment,