VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. "I tried to post this question earlier but my browser crashed while I was typing the question. And I accidentally pushed the submit button while trying to save my post. I apologize to the admin if that post was actually submitted."

Here is the question.

Hi,
    I am not an expert at video work. I was just wondering about how to convert square video pixels into round pixels. I have tried many video encoders and a few video filter programs, but so far haven't found any software which produces round video pixels.
    Here's an example
    I want to change the pixels from this…

Into this…

I would also like to know if there is a way of removing the artifacts on compressed videos apart from applying the deinterlacing or deblocking filters. I have applied those filters as well as the resize filter to to my compressed videos in Virtualdub. But the square pixels still seem to be creating artifacts on the videos.

Please help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I changed your post so it shows the images.

You can't do much with such bad video source...
    Quote Quote  
  3. I know Baldrick. But that video is not really the source. And I sharpened that video a lot before taking the snapshot. So that the square pixels would become visible. It was only an example, so there is nothing to worry about. I would just like to know about how to convert the square pixels of a video into round pixels like those in the second picture. I would really appreciate your help.
    Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  4. That's not "round" pixels. It's a paint effect. Oil paint, pointillist, something like that. Many image editors and video editors have such filters.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    ROTFL.

With all this talk about 'square pixels' and 'non-square pixels', it was only a matter of time before someone asked for round pixels...
    Quote Quote