VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi

How do I convert xvid framerate 23,967 to xvid framerate 25.000?

I have a flatpanel tv with usb. Just got it. Verry nice, I can watch xvid movies from my usb memorystick.
    However, when I play xvid 23,967 after a short period of time, the sound gets out of sync. When playing xvid 25.000, no problems.

Or, is there another solution than converting from 23,967 to 25.000?

Hope I put this Q in the right place. Bacause there is another tread about conversing, but I am a newbie. So I guess my Q should be put here.

Have a nice day.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Don't download 23.976 fps material ?

I would check to see if the audio is VBR MP3, which may cause sync issues for some devices. If it is, try converting it to CBR MP3 and see if the problem persists.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Yep. Usually it's an audio problem.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Thanks for the answers.

It does say MPEG Layer-3. For both 23 and 25. The 25 framerate, was the one working. Odd.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Does it say if it is VBR or CBR ?
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  6. It says VBR. I did try to convert it to CBR with the use of AutoGk, but it does not change anything. After a couple of min playing, the sound is out of sync. It starts with the sound in sync.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Changing the frame rate probably won't fix your sync problem but here how to do it to an AVI file with VirtualDub:

1) File -> Open Video File
    2) Video -> Direct Stream Copy
    3) Video -> Frame Rate, select Change Frame rate to (fps): [25]
    4) File -> Save as AVI
    Quote Quote  
  8. jagabo

Tried it and no, sound verry much out of sync.

Thanks anyway.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Oh well, guess I better stay with the 25 framerate material then.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Your problem has nothing to do with whether the material is 25 fps or 23.976 fps. You just have a poorly converted video.