VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    Hii folks..
    I’m a newbie 4 ripping.
    I use HD converter (I prefer blu ray rips) to convert blu ray disc movies to a more convenient rip such that it can be stored in my computer hard disc.
    Can u suggest any other better HD ripping softwares (Hopefully a freeware one)?

Coming to the point, I set video bitrate around 5mbps or so..(source is about 11 mbps)
    When I convert them in variable bit rate mode (vbr is default 4 my converter). After converting them if I check its specifications, the over all bit rate is abt 5mbps & max bitrate is abt 5.3mbps.

Can anyone suggest a method (or a new converter) so that I can get an increased max.bit rate (like 7 mbps or so) ?

P.S: There is no option 4 setting max video bit rate in my converter.

Plz check this link : https://forum.videohelp.com/topic147024.html
    Some guy(mrj 03) in that link is talking abt the "settings". I want to do the same kind of thing. Keep Min.bitrate & max.bitrate..But i don't find any converter which can help me to do that. Can any one tell me in which converter that kind of option is available??

Thanks in advance
    Quote Quote  
  2. Lower the minimum quantizer to allow for higher bitrate peaks.

Use x264 or any of the GUI tools built around it like MeGUI or Xvid4PSP.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    There is no value set for both min Q & max Q.. So vat values do u suggest ?? I would like to get the min bitrate around 3mbps & max to be 10mbps or so.. ( source is abt 11 mbps).

Also Q scale value Plzz!
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    What a dumb forum !
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by Sxn
    What a dumb forum !
    Chosing a value is a dumb idea

e.g. an arbitrary 3Mbps min will waste bitrate on static sections, similarly "11Mbps" might be too low for some sections with high complexity