VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi all! new to this site and i hope someone can help me... ok my TV plays MKV formats via usb, but it wont do the whole DTS audio so i need to convert the audio to AC3... problem is I've tried everything and im super lost here - for some reason i cant install that pocorn program because i have vista 64... anyways i;m really lost and if someone could let me know the easited way to convert the MKV file i already have to MKV AC3 i will be great full ... im new at this so please help!!! Ive got all these great movies and i cant hear them....

Thanks

Aaron
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Extract the audio using mkvextractgui.
    Convert the dts to ac3 using eac3togui.
    Add the new ac3 to the mkv using mkvmerge.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    You can also try PopCorn MKV AudioConverter. I have the same problem with DTS audio and found this worked for me.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I use XVID4PSP to do DTS to AC-3 when I have a MKV with DTS audio. You simply set it to AUDIO only mode then load the MKV and I set it to 640 AC-3 and it will spit out just an AC-3 audio file.

I do this because afterwards I use tsMuxeR to create a M2TS file which has the video from the MKV with my new 640 AC-3 audio track. Thus I can play the file on my PS3.

You can also use 448 AC-3 if you prefer (that is what DVD uses for 5.1 audio but devices like the PS3 can handle the higher 640 bitrate).

- John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Extract the audio using mkvextractgui.
    Convert the dts to ac3 using eac3togui.
    Add the new ac3 to the mkv using mkvmerge.