VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'll try to keep it brief and hope I'm not adding anything irrelevant, but I'm a noob at this stuff so I'm not totally sure what info you need or don't need. Go easy on me

Just bought a Toshiba DVR620. I bought it mostly to transfer some VHS tapes to DVDs and so I could stop having to use a VCR to record sporting events. I have Bright House Tampa (Florida) cable & a digital box. The box is 5 years old.

Went to record a hockey game tonight on SunSports, and it won't accept my DVD +RW. OK, I have a DVD -RW so I pop that in. Nope, error there too, not in VR mode. I format it in VR mode, and now it tells me the disc is not CPRM compatible. Doing some research, not seeing a lot of people complaining about this so I don't know if I'm just really unlucky or what. I tried a few other channels (NBC and Center Ice, which is PPV) and it started recording immediately.

The questions I have are:
    1 - What DVD -RW discs are CPRM compatible?! I don't see this info anywhere.
    2 - What I want to do is: record games, if I want to keep them (for my own use) I'd prefer it if I could then get them on my hard drive, edit out ads & whatnot & burn them to a DVD +R. So, if I manage to locate these discs, would I then be able to do this with them?
    3 - Could my ancient cable box be the issue? Some of the research I've found suggests that no tv shows in the US should have this CPRM flag on it. Is this just an issue with the particular channel & should I be hassling them or maybe BrightHouse?

Thanks for any help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Welcome tbl35

I format it in VR mode, and now it tells me the disc is not CPRM compatible
    CPRM copy protection technology with scramble system allows recording of copy-once broadcast programs, but
    not copying of such recordings. CPRM recordings can only be made on DVD-RW discs in VR mode, and can only