VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Julie
    Search Comp PM

I hope somebody can help me.

I am new to blu ray,hd content, and need some advice. I want to burn hd and blu ray content (1080p)to a disc (dual layer) to play on a normal dvd player,but have received conflicting advice. Some people tell me a normal dvd player will not play dual layer,some say it should read just like a single layer. I want to know whether A) a normal dvd player will play hd/blu ray content burned onto DL disc, and whether it will play this disc in full 1080p (through a full HD 1080p t.v).

Or B) Do I have to burn to BD disc, and play on blu ray player?

C) Does the blu ray player have to be multi-regional to play back up discs?

Confused.com
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    No normal dvd player supports hd. Do you mean a normal blu-ray player? Then yes, see http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=146339 for a list.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    A) No normal DVD player will play BluRay content, regardless of whether you use DL or single layer media.
    B) Sort of, but some BluRay players will play BluRay content on single layer and DL DVD media. However, this is not consistently supported and even on players that will do this, the exact format of the disc may vary and what works on player A may not play at all on player B and vice-versa.
    C) No. Support for this has nothing to do with regions.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Just to clarify a tiny bit more: