VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi Everone,

I am new to transcoding so I would greatly appreciate some feedback on my below 2-pass VOB->H264 ffmpeg commands. This is used to convert standard def movies in 16:9 and 4:3 (the 16:9 is hard-coded below but that is not usually the case) to MPGs for playback on my PS3. The source VOBs are raw uncompressed VOBs straight from the DVDs.

Code:
    : Extract video and transcode to X264 in 2 Passes
    : --------------------------------------------------------------
    echo %date% %time% Starting Video Pass 1 >> %LOG%
    ffmpeg -i %SRCFILE% -pass 1 -passlogfile %TEMPFILE_PASSLOG% -an -vcodec libx264 -b 5000kb -minrate 5000kb -maxrate 5000kb -bufsize 224kb -s 720x480 -r 29.97 -aspect 16:9 -flags +loop -cmp +chroma -partitions +parti4x4+partp8x8+partb8x8 -me_method epzs -subq 1 -trellis 0 -refs 1 -bf 3 -b_strategy 1 -threads 1 -level 41 -coder 1 -me_range 16 -g 250 -keyint_min 25 -sc_threshold 40 -i_qfactor 0.71 -bt 4000kb -rc_eq 'blurCplx^(1-qComp)' -qcomp 0.6 -qmin 10 -qmax 51 -qdiff 4 temp_video_1.mp4

echo %date% %time% Starting Video Pass 2 >> %LOG%
    ffmpeg -i %SRCFILE% -pass 2 -title %TITLE% -an -f mp4 -vcodec libx264 -b 5000kb -minrate 5000kb -maxrate 5000kb -bufsize 224kb -s 720x480 -r 29.97 -aspect 16:9 -flags +loop -cmp +chroma -partitions +parti4x4+partp8x8+partb8x8 -flags2 +mixed_refs -me_method umh -subq 5 -trellis 2 -refs 5 -bf 3 -b_strategy 1 -threads 1 -level 41 -coder 1 -me_range 16 -g 250 -keyint_min 25 -sc_threshold 40 -i_qfactor 0.71 -bt 4000kb -rc_eq 'blurCplx^(1-qComp)' -qcomp 0.6 -qmin 10 -qmax 51 -qdiff 4 temp_video_2.mp4
    Two things I am concerned with are: