VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi,

I'm fairly new at all this, so I thought a little bit of guidance/advise would be nice.
    I've looked through this site, and there is a lot of information, a bit overwhelming maybe, so, that is why I'm here...

I got a stack of (and I do mean a big stack) DVD-ram disks, from a friend, he/she has spend filming the performance of someon on various events.
    so I got it all on DVD-ram, in VRO format (some in 4:3, some in 16:9, some in normal def, some in HD)

the request:
    - from each disk, collect 1 or more clips (got a list of "title/chapter" combinations, I need to extract) (each DVD ram will contain different "subjects")
    - replace the sound track from the clips with background music (mp3)
    - setup starting and ending credits (so basically a movie title, a few names before start of the movie, and ending credits)
    - make it viewable as 1 long movie if just played (so one clip after another), or the ability to select the clips (so chapters again)
    - maybe (if it is easy to do), add a menu with a play all, or the ability to select clips to play
    - combine them in a DVD, viewable on standard DVD players
    - it does not need to be the super high quality, just as good as possible without trying to squeeze out that last extra pixel
    - and in this way, I need to create a few different DVD's (a DVD for each "subject")

I guess for the pros and experienced amongst you, this is peanuts

so, the tools I have at my disposal the next weeks to do this are :
    - Premiere Pro (CS4) (basically, the whole CS4 suite)
    - TPMGenc xpress and authoring works
    - Nero 9 (suite)

so my questions are :
    - is there a tool which can export from vro to xxx (whatver is best) while creating clips according to the title/chapter information (does TPMGenc this? of does it only create clips according to some sort of smart-detection)