VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello,

I am relatively new to the in depth details of digital video, so a couple questions. I have captured footage from my miniDV cam over the last couple years using firewire and Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5, and at the time knew nothing about video color formats (YUV, RGB). I basically wanted an exact copy from the tape to my hard drive to edit later. I captured via firewire to the DV NTSC profile, didn’t add any effects, only made some cuts here and there so didn’t have any red bar, then exported as Microsoft DV-AVI without recompressing. I have been reading mixed information about how premiere pro 1.5 deals with color spaces. While I have read in adobe’s literature that that version supported native YUV video and only converted to RGB for playback, someone in an anime video forum mentioned that upon import premiere pro converts to 4:4:4 YUV, then I guess re-converts to 4:1:1 upon export with the Microsoft DV-avi codec. I would assume, based on the adobe literature, although it was mostly limited to advertisements, that the video would be captured at 4:1:1 YUV then exported in the same 4:1:1 color space without any conversions since all of the settings were DV NTSC. Am I correct in my original thinking that I didn’t lose anything in any color conversions?

Does it matter what DV codec I use when exporting the final video? Seems like it shouldn’t matter, bits on a tape should be converted to the same bits on the hard drive regardless of the DV codec, although people have talked about major differences between codecs.

When using RGB color correction in premiere pro, does it convert the color space then during editing?