VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Some of you will probably recognize me from my previous posts, and here I am again!

I have some footage from my Canon HG10 shot in 60i now, and have been playing around on Vegas trying to get it converted from .mts to either wmv, mp4, or avi. No luck so far, all of my conversions either has mis-matching, ghosting, or even white spots.

I've heard Premiere Pro CS4 will natively handle .mts footage, but haven't ventured that route yet. Ideally I'd like to stick with Vegas Pro 9.0. I'm certain it's just a matter of not having my render and video settings just right, but I have yet to find a set of values which will actually produce a clip which hasn't lost quality or had defects appear which wasn't on the raw footage.

I am a newbie to both camcorders and the software, so if anyone has screenshots of the video properties which need adjusted, the render settings, and any custom value changes, that would be ideal. If Vegas simply won't work out, then I will go ahead and try Premiere, but as stated, I'd like to avoid that scenario if possible. I've been led to think Vegas is the route to go, and know it CAN be done. . I'm not looking to do anything special beyond rending into a more usable and somewhat smaller format. I've given up on 24p Cine mode already, but really need to figure out a way to get 60i working, it sounds like it will be better suited for my (mostly outdoor, high-movement) clips.

Here is an example of HG10 footage which has been put through Vegas 8.0 with only minor editing done (NOT my clip):
    http://www.vimeo.com/4277666

Here is a quick sample of my raw .mts extension 60i footage (<10 mb) in case someone needs a reference sample to play with:
    http://www.yourfilelink.com/get.php?fid=503115

MediaInfo for sample clip:

Format : BDAV
    Format/Info : Blu-ray Video
    File size : 9.45 MiB
    Duration : 4s 992ms
    Overall bit rate : 15.9 Mbps