VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    (I have tried to research this as much as I can but I'm not very familiar with video editing and I'm still learning)

Hi and thank you for your time and help,
    I recieved a nice apple mac book through my job and thought it would be nice to use it to edit video from my Canon HF100 with the IMovie software. After 9 months I changed jobs and had to return my mac book but I saved all the .mov files to an external hard disk. This video is very important to me as it is the first 6 months of our new baby's life. In my new job, I decided to get a PC laptop instead of mac but was devistated to find the files (apple intermediate codec .mov) won't play on my PC. The original .MTS files from these IMovie exports have since been overwritten.

Question...
    What do I need to do to access these files on PC in the highest quality possible?
    Can I rescue these files without loosing any more quality?

Quality is very important to me as I purchased a high def camera so I want to benifit from it in years to come. I always record in highest quality. I now use Pinnacle Studio 12 to import and edit new footage and that stays in .MTS format.

Question...
    Would it be best for me to 1) get access to an apple mac 2) import into imovie 3) export in a format compatible with PC?

I'm not great with indepth technical terms.
    Thank you and I appreciate your advice
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by skelinat
    (I have tried to research this as much as I can but I'm not very familiar with video editing and I'm still learning)

Hi and thank you for your time and help,