VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I've recorded my son's wedding using two video cameras. I set one as a stationary camera getting the whole wedding party and the other was setup for a close-up on the bride and groom.

First problem, two different types of cameras. I ended up making DVD's out of both and now have the videos in .VOB/.IFO/.BUP files.

Now that they're in the same file formats (I think, I'm new to this end), can I "slice and dice" to make one professional looking video (changing camera views) or am I stuck with what I have?

I'm use to filming, editing one video and making DVD (simple editing procedures) so be detailed.

Curt
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Curt, what are the formats of the source videos? You ought to recapture your footage to PC in a format like DV-AVI, and only encode to DVD after editing is finished. You do yourself no favors by encoding to DVD before editing.

What editing tools do you have at your disposal? You will likely need a decent timeline editor (with multiple video and audio track options) to synchronize the videos, using whichever audio source is best.

Once your project is edited, then you can output to DVD.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have a JVC GR-DVL920U miniDV Camcorder (stationary one) and a Panasonic SDR-80K (60 gig hdd) as the zoom. The miniDV is intact and I can do it again. The Panasonic was ported over to the computer and has a .cont, .mpg & a .mtv file (haven't the slightest of 2 of those formats). The hard drive has been wiped and is in the Dominican Repuplic now (honeymoon).