VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'm new to streaming and need help getting blu rays to stream to my ps3. This is what I've done so far and my set up. I've ripped blu rays to my hard drive using AnyDVD and converted with TsRemux to m2ts. I've also tried tsmuxer. I use ps3 media server. I connect hard wired to my ps3 through a dlink 655 router. Total length between pc and ps3 is about 30 feet. I've tried letting the buffer build up in ps3 media server as well as lower the max bandwidth. No matter what settings I change or progams I use, the end result is very choppy. Plays great on my pc. Non HD content plays fine. I've gone through many guides trying to figure it out. I feel like theres something I'm missing. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Instead of streaming I do a file copy to the PS3 then play it back from the HDD of the PS3.

When you are done watching it then delete it (from the PS3's HDD not your computer's HDD).

The file copy is faster than real time ... say 15 - 20 minutes for a large 720p/1080p file.

- John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    The only problem with that is the file size. I don't want to break apart the file and the ps3 wont see anything over 4gb correctly. For smaller files its a great way to go.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Look at your router settings. I stream over wireless and can stream 720p footage at moderate bitrates to the PS3 without issue. I have given the PS3 and the desktop that serves it static IP addresses, and I have added a static route between the two to the router config. I have also turned on the QoS feature for media serving in my router between these to addresses.