VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, I'm a new forum member and quite a newbie to all things video. Also, although I'm not afraid of using the command line, I have little experience with unix beyond the basics, and none with ruby.

Early this morning I installed ffmpegX and am quite pleased to have successfully converted a VOB file to FLV. However, I have been spending the bulk of the day trying to resolve one problem with the metadata. I've learned a bunch from other posts on this forum but have not found the solution I need.

The resulting .flv file runs just fine within an swf player embedded in a web page. Unlike problems described in other posts in this forum, there was no problem with playback whatsoever. However, there is no progress bar -- there is a grey bar, but no black indicator showing how much has played; the elapsed and remaining time both continue to display 00:00 throughout playback; and there is no way to click or drag to a new time point; the only playback controls are start/stop/pause.

Some possibly relevant facts:

• Other .flv files provided to me by somebody else, converted from the same original DVD but on a different platform using different software, display a working progress bar properly, so the problem is not with the player or with the code I use to control it. It's the .flv file that is the problem.