VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hello,

I'm an utter newbie to video. I've been working through some problems over the last few days and am making progress but I need some guidance on sizes.

I've got a JVC Everio and (the hard way) have found out all about MOD files and that they can't be read easily into Adobe Premiere and that they are MPG2 files (sort-of) and how useful (or not) the software that comes with the JVC and Premiere Elements itself is...

Thankfully, along the way, this morning I found *this* lovely site and can see I'll be popping back to it! I wish I'd found you all a week or two ago I might have saved myself a lot of money and effort along the way.

Anyway, right now I am converting 99 files using HandBrake, into AVI files, ready to load the family holiday up into Premiere and edit it down to a manageable short video to watch. That looks like a nice tool.

But I could do with some guidance on screen sizes, please (I realised this only after sending 99 files to convert: doh!).

Now the Everio shoots a 16:9 wide-screen picture and squishes it into a 720x576 PAL file.

I will be shooting for two purposes:
    1. for eventual on-line use.
    2. for watching on our TV/DVD player.

For '1.' I will want a window size of about 640x360 and I have already done this in HandBrake under picture settings by setting the width/height to 640x360 which "un-squishes" the widescreen shot again. Result.

For '2.' I need help. I know that the HDTV format is 1920x1080. My DVD player is not an HD player, just an old thing that does DVD in either 16:9 or 4:3. And I would have thought that making AVI files to edit as 1920x1080 from a 720x576 file is going to not give me brilliant quality anyway. Just now the conversion is going on at 640x360 and that's when I realised that may not be the best answer. Maybe I should be converting to 720x405 to keep the ratio but without adding or losing pixels to interpolation on the width?