VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I am an amateur videographer. With todays HD cameras and a high-octane home PC I can make stunning 1080p output almost as good as commercial HD footage. I am however on a budget. Blu Ray writers are still $$$$ and blank BD media is almost as bad. Consumer Blu ray players however are getting comparatively cheap.

Nearly all of my HD short films are way less than the size of a standard DVD-R. As most Blu Ray players will read this media I started thinking about authoring a BD file system in DVDA and then writing the files to a DVD-R.

So my question is... Will a standard Blu Ray file system, when written to a DVD-R, be interpreted correctly as a BD movie by the Blu Ray player?

Anybody tried this ?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    What you want to do is called AVCHD. Some BluRay players support this, like the PS3. Others do not. It varies from player to player.

The format was originally designed to support HD camcorder video on DVD discs. Since the AVCHD disc doesn't have to be camcorder video per se, some people realized that it was possible to rip BluRay discs and re-encode them down to fit on DVD media. Hollywood can't be happy about this, but the manufacturers are stuck because if they drop support for AVCHD, the people who bought camcorders and were promised they could watch those videos in HD on their BluRay players will be angry. But it's my understanding that AVCHD is not officially part of the BluRay standard so Hollywood may start putting pressure on manufacturers to not support it "to stop piracy". That would be a worst case scenario, but given how difficult it is anywhere in the world to find region free DVD players now, I can't rule this out. So while AVCHD works now, it may or may not work in the future.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jman98
    What you want to do is called AVCHD.