VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi folks! New to the forum, but not to ffmpegx. Just finally stumped. I've been using the "join" tool off and on for a couple years with never any trouble, but now I've come to a dead end.

I have two halves of a video. One is 699.2meg, the other 700.7meg. When dropped in Source, both are recognized as AVI, mpeg4, yuv420p, 640x272, AC3, 48000 hz, stereo, 192kbps. For both, the audio and video are perfectly in sync. After using the "join" tool, though, the audio ends up almost a full second "early", right from the beginning and straight through to end.

I've tried using the standard conversion to AVI-DivX that is the ffmpegx default conversion, and both convert perfectly ... but again using join on the newly converted files the result is out of sync.

Showing the movie properties in Quicktime shows the video and audio tracks on part 1 to be 1:25:58:64 and 1:25:58:66 respectively, and for part 2 to be 1:17:58:12 and 1:17:58:18. The joined file shows 2:43:56:68 and 2:43:56:50. With discrepancies of only a couple hundredths of a second this would not seem to be the problem.

I thought maybe I'd separate the video and audio, join them separately, and then re-add the audio. So I dropped the first half into source and un-checked "encode audio" on the audio screen ... but the resulting file still had the audio in it ... ??? I tried playing with some of the bit rates, but at this point it seems I'm just shooting in the dark.

So, any clues as to what I can try next? Seems it shouldn't be this hard just to join two halves into a whole!
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for your detailed description. It rules out some possible causes. But I'm afraid I do not have a sure fix for this problem.