VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Morning all, I am, a complete newbie to this so please bear with me if my jargon is a little dated.

Problem - I have connected my PC, a Dell 5150 with a Geforce 6600GT to my TV using a DVI to HDMI cable along with two audio cables. The screen on the TV (a 32" flat screen) has now acquired a strange green colour that I cannot remove from the PC side. The green only occurs when the HDMI channel is selected. It is not always green, just when the PC image appears, which it does, but all greenish. I would like to ask if anyone knows how to remove this problem, it is f*****g irritating and I can't watch any of the films I have on my PC.

thanks

Tim
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    You must be an apprentice saint with that closing comment ...

Is it a completely green screen with no other image or text? Or is everything just a shade of green? Maybe just green and yellow?

Make sure your video card is set to something the HDMI port can handle. I'd start with 1280x720 60Hz. Check your manual for acceptable settings.
    Have a good one,

neomaine

NEW! VideoHelp.com F@H team 166011!
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=166011

Folding@Home FAQ and download: http://folding.stanford.edu/
    Quote Quote  
  3. Everything is OK with just a shade of green overlayed over the image. The screen is set to 1024*768 at 60 Hz.

My saintly status is still pending with the big man!

Tim
    Quote Quote  
  4. Use a standard HDTV resolution. 1280x720 or 1920x1080 at 50 Hz.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by timmythesaint
    Everything is OK with just a shade of green overlayed over the image. The screen is set to 1024*768 at 60 Hz.
    What make/model is the TV? Though an HDTV standard like 1280x720 should work you should use the native resolution for the TV. And, make sure you have it set to pixel mode or whatever the equivalent is for your set.