VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Hi

    Does anyone know of any MAC programs that will allow me to hard code subtitles onto an AVI file ?
    Anything like the Windows version of AutoGordian Knot , but easier to use ?
    Ive got 'Handbrake' but I dont see how to add the subs to the file,unless theres a hidden window to access
    them like in AGK ( CTRL + F8 ) ?
    Anyway hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.
    Thanks for reading 8)
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member ffooky's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2005
    Location: UK
    Search Comp PM
    Click on the Audio & Subtitles tab which is fiendishly hidden in the middle of the main Handbrake window.

    Edit: Serves me right for being sarcastic...I presume you mean add subs to a pre-existing avi ?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Clicked on 'SUBTITLE TAB' - then what ?
    Audio track in window 1 is the foreign soundtrack
    No options for any other windows in that SUBTITLE TAB
    No option to select srt/sub files ?
    Tried 'EDIT' at the top of the tool bar as you suggested which does nothing also.
    Any more ideas for 'HANDBRAKE' ?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Did you post over at the HandBrake forum? They aren't very friend if you don't post by the rules.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member ffooky's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2005
    Location: UK
    Search Comp PM
    Are you trying to do an iniitial encode from DVD etc to Xvid or are you trying to merge a pre-existent AVI with its accompanying subtitle file/s ? If it's the latter, for what final purpose ?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2007
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    You could try Submerge, which is $9 and will work with Turbo H264 or there is also Road Movie, which has batch encoding and is $20.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2003
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Just for the record I am trying to encode an AVI file together with a set of english subs.
    The end result being an AVI with foreign audio + english subs embedded onto it
    so that can be played back on DVD/AVI player or computer.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the software advice guys,I will look into it.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member ffooky's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2005
    Location: UK
    Search Comp PM
    In that case there may be no need to hard code the subs at all as most AVI-capable players will read text based subs but not idx/sub ones.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I'd prefer to embed them to the avi.
    You don't have to worry about the avi player rejecting the file
    as I have encountered this before.
    Just tried software mentioned above & getting same problem I got on Windows using AGK
    2 sets of subs appear on screen !!
    Must be something wrong with the avi or sub text ?
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member ffooky's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2005
    Location: UK
    Search Comp PM
    What format are the subs ? If .sub, do you know which variety ?
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    They are SRT file format.
    They are the right ones,they seem in synch when the avi is playing.
    Ive checked them to see if the actual txt is doubled up,but its not.
    Ive managed to hardcode subs before using AGK sucessfully on Windows
    but for some reason now I keep getting the 2 sets appearing on screen
    thats even on preview mode before encoding !!
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member ffooky's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2005
    Location: UK
    Search Comp PM
    Have you tried moving the .srt to another directory and then playing the .avi ? It may be that the subs are already hardcoded, hence the doubling.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2003
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    If the "srt" file is named the same as the video (myMovie.avi and myMovie.srt), the Perian plugin (which you undoubtedly have installed in order to view the AVI) is automatically inserting the subtitles into the movie. So you need to rename the "srt" file to something else (myMovie2.srt would be okay) and then Perian won't insert the subs automatically; your transcoding app (ViddyUp, Handbrake, etc.) will then let you specify the subtitle file and insert them for you. It's your choice. Do one or the other but not both.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    If you have some spare time.
    The link below is the reason why I'm trying to use the mac for hardcoding subs.
    Also to find the best possible mac software to do this.
    The post below might answer a few of your questions.

    http://forum.videohelp.com/topic365421.html




    Also I dont really see the option to insert a 'SRT' sub file into 'Handbrake'
    The middle tab suggests you can do it,but how ?
    I've got a raw uncoded avi with NO subs embedded & want to ADD a 'SRT' sub file
    to end up with a hard coded subbed avi.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member ffooky's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2005
    Location: UK
    Search Comp PM
    Handbrake does not allow you to add subs from a separate file, it's not a function that serves the purposes for which Handbrake is designed.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads