VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    O.k, so I'm completely new to this, basically I'm an idiot with a fraps version. Anyways, most of my confusion comes from the new version of fraps. I recorded a lot of my footage at full screen because i forgot that i had got a new one and didn't change it to half screen. So, this new fraps version makes like 1 million small files (2 and a half mins of footage each).

My first question is :

- How do i take all the little files, and make them into one continuously running video?
    - How can i compress them to a smaller resolution/DivX File, i have Virtual Dub installed, but it has no Compress option, in the options menu.

That's about it for now, I'm sure ill have questions later as solutions are brought up.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    1. Tried the append function in virtualdub, File->Append? it might also work if you name the video files like video001.avi, video002.avi, video003.avi and open the first and all will be opened directly.

2. Select Video->Full Processing and then Video->Compression and choose divx or xvid(it they aren't in the list then install the divx codec or xvid codec).
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Ok, so i did all that everything seems fine, how do i save this or compress it etc? Im completely new to this lol, so if i sound like an idiot it's cuz i am. When i selected the divxcodec it didn't process/load anything, is this normal? And the append thing DID work.

I tried to save as .AVI to desktop, and i got an error:

Video Compression Error: The source format is not acceptable. And a little box popped up with some dealies on it.

Tabs:

Main, Video, Perf, Log

The progress bar didn't start :'(
    Quote Quote  
  4. Install ffdshow, enable fraps in the ffdshow vfw configuration (gold colored icon); set to libavcodec instead of disabled

Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM