VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    [RESOLVED] -- see here: HERE

I can't stand it any more!! My system crashed on me and my desktop went from an 1680x1050 to a 640x480 pillard box window. When I reset the resolution, all my desktop icons got f 'd up! again! I'd say, after a dozen or more times of repositioning all the icons manually, one by one, where they were--if I could remember most of them--its a chore to do.

An old window 95/98 utility that doesn't exist anymore..

Is there anything similar to WIN98 "ezdesk" an DLL applet that inserts inself into the windows display properties settings as an extra TAB. It features the following:

( ) No change to current layout
    (x) Save layout for current resolution
    ( ) Load layout for current resolution

Its an really old utility, and I've been using it since way way back in 1995 to present, and I can't tell you have an invaluable tool to never to be without! But I've never seen anything like it for Windows XP, and I desparately need one like it. Its a tiny 20kb file for crying out loud. Anyway. I do hope there's something. In the mean time, I have to go figure out my old desktiop icon layout, again. sheesh!

Thanks in advance,

-vhelp 4993
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    One of those 'hard to re-create' layouts?

But seriously, I recall a thread, maybe a couple of years ago, about capturing and restoring icon positions. But I don't remember if there were any XP programs mentioned that could do this. This is one possibility: http://users.rcn.com/taylotr/icon_restore.html A similar setup for Vista: http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/save-and-restore-desktop-icon-layout-in-windows-vista/
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    yeah, I remember that thread

(with my latest 19" widescreen monitor, it was only a matter of time before I clottered my desktop)