VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Hi I recently upgraded my computers power supply from the 250w I have been using this whole time with 8600 GTS graphics card. But the card must have been running at half performance the whole time and not said anything untill I updated my driver. Now Everytime I I turn on my computer I get a message that I have insufficient power.

    So I took my computer to Best Buy and they installed an Antec 500 Watt psu with dual 12v rails and I thought that would do the trick.

    I get home fire up the computer and get the same message.
    I called back to the store and another woman answered not the guy who put it in he was on break. She said I might need a 650w? A 650w? I though 500w would be good enough, this is where I need your help guys I don't know enough to really know if a 650w is the problem or if the psu is enough and not connected propery, even though I watched him connect it.

    This is the message exactly.

    ----------
    NVIDIA Power Warning

    Your NVIDIA graphics card is not receiving sufficient power. As a result, the graphics card has lowered its performance to a level that allows continued safe operation.

    To remedy the problem. ensure that your NVIDIA graphics card has the supplemental power connector attached.

    -------------
    I paid the guy 45 bucks for the service charge so the Supplemental power connector should be attached.

    Could you guys please give me any clues what the problem may be, I am not tech savey so please talk to me like I am special Ed. Thanks!

    Acer Aspire E380

    Computer Details/Setup:
    Operating System: Vista 32bit
    CPU Speed: AMD athalon(tm) 64 X2 Duel Core Processor 4400+
    Harddrive space: 145 GB
    RAM Memory: 2.00 GB
    Video Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GTS
    Capture Card: ?
    Motherboard: ?
    DVD/CD: ?
    Standalone DVD Player: ?
    Desktop DVD Recorder: ?
    Other: Antec 500w Psu
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member kush's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2004
    Location: Near "Pacific Park", USA
    Search Comp PM
    The supplemental connector would be the 6 pin PCI-e, as noted here.

    Refer to the following photo for the connection point on the card:



    Obviously, you'll have to open up the case to do so, and the card will be upside down (as compared to the photo), ie: the connector should be closest to you just beyond the metal retainer bar on the card.

    The 500w should be more than sufficient for the system. Hell, a good 400w should be enough. My $$$ on more like the Idiot Squad and Worst Buy didn't hook up the PCI-e.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    I will have to use rubber gloves when i open it up to check right? And if he didn't hook it up right I better get my 45 bucks back
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    So the 6 pin pce-e should be unconnected inside my computer according to the graphics card message, I should find it inside unconnected and connect it to the PCI-E on the graphics card?

    I think i remember him near the PCI-E because I was trying to watch him and if I remember correctly it looked like he connected it. So if he did connect it and I am still getting the message could it be a problem the the graphics card itsself?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    You are a godsend Kush I fixed it, the PCi-e slot was not hooked in just like you said.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2005
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Hogie
    So the 6 pin pce-e should be unconnected inside my computer according to the graphics card message, I should find it inside unconnected and connect it to the PCI-E on the graphics card?

    I think i remember him near the PCI-E because I was trying to watch him and if I remember correctly it looked like he connected it. So if he did connect it and I am still getting the message could it be a problem the the graphics card itsself?
    you do not need to use rubber gloves when you open up the case, just make sure the pc is off (obviously), as was pointed out the only time you see that message is when the video card power connector is either not connected or lossly connected (the more likely of the 2 scenarios).

    in either case simply make sure you plug it in as firmly as you can (you should hear a slight click as one side of the connector will have a small clasp).

    one last thing about power supply requirements, if you check out the following site:

    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/intel-skulltrail_10.html#sect0

    a skulltrail system at full cpu load only uses about 425 watts, and that's with 2 quad cores, a server motherboard and fully buffered ram, there's no way any desktop pc would be lacking with a 500 watt power supply, not even close.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads