VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi

I am new to Linux and video. Using Ubuntu 8.10 I want to create a video using one .JPG image and an MP3 file. I would also like to know how to use a changing series of JPG images as I have seen on Youtube.

I have been stepping into the world of FFMPEG and Kino but am not at all proficient. Any FFMPEG suggestions or tutorial links would be greatly appreciated.

Daka
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'd check out dvd-slideshow. What you want to do is really easy with that. I'm on Ubuntu 8.10 too, and dvd-slideshow is in the repositories so you can install it easily. There is a known issue with dvd-slideshow and the version of ffmpeg used by ubuntu. Here is a link to a forum thread with the fix (pretty easy and worked for me). See the post by gerben1 for the fix.

Also, you mentioned Kino; If you like that I'd also check out avidemux. Like Kino it has a nice gui and features. Each has their own strengths.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I did something similar to this when I made an SVCD of stills with audio commentary.

https://forum.videohelp.com/topic134599.html

It may not be exactly what you're looking for, but you can adapt it. Basically, you use mencoder to make an m2v of the video, then convert your mp3 to mp2. then use mplex to mux them together. The image will stay on the screen for the duration of the audio.

as far as an ffmpeg tutorial, I find the best one to be the manpage itself.

Code:
    man ffmpeg
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM