VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
Thread
  1. Hi All

    Right, how do I get WMC to play the .vob files I ripped with DVDFab 5?

    When I point it at the folder containing the VIDEO_TS files it says its empty!

    I ripped the DVD then converted it to DivX, but I'm not happy with the quality so I want to play the vob's in WMC

    Any ideas?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date: Sep 2002
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    You could extract the MPEG movie file from the VIDEO_TS folder with VOB2MPG. No re-encoding.
    Quote Quote  
  3. And that will give me lossless playback?

    I encoded to DivX but playback wasn't good on my 19" monitor at 1680x1050.

    So what res does a 1080p run at? Sorry for stupid Q's

    Its what being a newb is all about!
    Quote Quote  
  4. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date: Sep 2002
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, it's lossless and fairly quick. It just extracts the existing MPEGs that are in the VOB containers to a single MPEG file. If you want the whole DVD without the extraction, you should be able to play the ripped VIDEO_TS folder by this method: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/930526 But I prefer just the main movie.

    And I probably should have moved this to our Media Center Forum, as there is more specific info there. Moving you.
    Quote Quote  
  5. contrarian rallynavvie's Avatar
    Join Date: Sep 2002
    Location: Minnesotan in Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Or you can use something like MyMovies and rip your DVDs as ISOs for full playback functionality. I do that for my HTPC at my cabin so I don't have to haul movies back and forth.
    FB-DIMM are the real cause of global warming
    Quote Quote  
  6. I have now ripped the main movie to my HDD and done the MS support bit. Told WMC where the folder is but it won't find the files. All it shows is two clips already pre-installed.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Dan Dare
    I have now ripped the main movie to my HDD and done the MS support bit. Told WMC where the folder is but it won't find the files. All it shows is two clips already pre-installed.
    Yh i had this problem - i sorted it by going into Windows Media Centre and the into the DVD library section then i right clicked on a bit of open space and clicked add movies. Then it took me to a similar place to add folder to library except it seemed to be only for dvd - so i added all my folders again, waited for it to search for media and then i was sorted .
    Hope this helps you!!
    Ben
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2012
    Search PM
    Wha...it's like trying to take instruction from a ferret on steroids. wot dvd libry section? wot blan k space? aaaeeigh!
    Quote Quote  
  9. all you need is DVD Decoder for WMP, i guess...
    alternatively try this from RiPBot user comments.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2012
    Search PM
    err..yes. But where?

    The other suggestion is a converter. I have a dozen of those. Also, once converted, how do you play them in sequence?
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2003
    Location: Reseda, Califorina
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by OldNick View Post
    err..yes. But where?

    The other suggestion is a converter. I have a dozen of those. Also, once converted, how do you play them in sequence?
    Play what in order? You mean movies like Transporter 1, 2 and 3? Or TV Shows?

    TV Shows as long as they are sXXeXX or another naming sequence metadata scrappers understand, it will put all files in order, either by DVD order or by original broadcast order which ever is on theTVDB.com They are usually one in the same however, like Voltron for instance or M.A.S.K the DVD order is the same as the broadcast (first run) order.
    Project Digital: Eliminate All Physical Media is finally underway!
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads