VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I recorded a birthday party in 1080p 29 f/s with a HD camcorder. Now if I wanted to see it this good HD quality will I have to burn it to a Blue-Ray DVD or HD DVD? or can I just burn it to a standard DVD-R?

need help in understanding.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I changed the subject. PLease do NOT just use total noob here as it doesn't say anything.

You can burn it whatever media if you are just going to play it on computers and you will get HD quality. BUT if you want it to play on standalone hd players like blu-ray player you must author and burn it as a Blu-ray video on a blu-ray disc (or some standalone blu-ray players may also support blu-ray/avchd on dvdr disc). If you want it to play on standard dvd players you must make a dvd-video but you wont get any hd quality then.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    only blu-ray will allow for the HD quality then? So, for my brother to enjoy my video, he will need to have a blu-ray player? basically?

What camera are you using? Unfortunately there are variations in the format depending on the camera brand. Vegas works fine with m2ts files from a Sony camcorder but it balks with Canon camcorders.
    Its a Canon HF10 recorded with that cinematic option Paid 1300 when it came out in April of this year. . It is choppy, thats for sure...

thanks for organizing my posts.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Feed your M2TS file to ConvertXtoDVD. It'll make a decent quality regular DVD that he'll be able to play on his existing equipment.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by templedog
    So, for my brother to enjoy my video, he will need to have a blu-ray player? basically?