VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have downloaded an AVI file that's 700MB. I use Sonic MyDVD to burn DVDs but it will not open the file. I have converted AVI to MPEG using Prism Video Converter, but then MyDVD shows the file too big to fit on DVD. With an overage of about 1200MB. So I've used Rejig to shrink the MPEG file and it separates Audio from Video. I've remuxed them using ImagoMPEG Muxer and the end result is the correct size but the Audio and Video are out of synch. Audio is far behind video. I'm looking for a better method and/or solution using freeware/shareware. I've searched and tried and I can't seem to get it right. I'm not very experienced so step by step instructions would be great if possible. Thank you so much in advance. This site has taught me alot that I had no clue about
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Don't know anything about your Prism converter, but I'd say your bitrate was too high for your MPEG-2 conversion. You might want to try DVD Flick, or ConvertXtoDVD.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Okay I have DVD flick and I've tried it maybe I did it wrong. I will try again
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    FAVC is good too.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I tried DVD flick and got the same result....overage of about 1200MB. Is there a program that can shrink a file without demuxing it? Or is there another way I could go about all of this?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Three questions:

What is the running time of the video?

What bitrate are you using for the MPEG-2 encode?

What is the final size of the mpg file (or VIDEO_TS folder)?
    Quote Quote  
  7. You didn't, by chance, accidently convert the audio to PCM WAV audio?

It would be much better for you to figure out where you're going wrong (and it is you at fault, and not the program) than to shrink the overlarge result.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member