VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello all,

I'm brand new to Macs and ffmpegX, so hopefully I'm just missing a trick here.

I've been using my MacBook Pro for about a week and was recommended to use ffmpegX by a colleague.

I downloaded this, read the install instructions (no biggie, went fine) and then went about trying out a few options.

But when I read the instructions on the web site for enabling/installing .rm conversion support, things went a bit Pete Tong.

I downloaded the reallib files as suggested, but when going to copy them as instructed to Library/Application Support/ffmpegX, I found that there was no ffmpegX directory in this location.

I tried creating one and copying in the reallib folder and then using ffmpegX, but it still didn't let me copy in the desired .rm file.

I then uninstalled ffmpegX (using appcleaner just to be sure) and re-installed, but still have the same problem: no ffmpegX directory where indicated in the install instructions.

Can anyone offer any help or advice?

I'm using version 0.0.9y (interestingly I saw a post yesterday of someone using this version (the poster included screenshots) and they were having no problems working with .rm files.

Thanks,

Bowjest

PS - I'm very sorry, but I initially posted this in the Newbie section and then found this. Can an admin please remove my initial post in the Newbie area? I really didn't mean to cross post. Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Ummmm.....

I think I solved one thing.....

I was putting reallib in *my* Library/Application Support directory (sorry, but I'm new to Macs).

Nevertheless, after going to /Library/Application Support/ffmpegX and putting in the required reallib directory and files, I still can't get ffmpegX to accept/process .rm files.

Is it possibly a permissions thing?

Bowjest
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Intel or PowerPC?