VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search PM
    As I browse this site, and I have done so for a couple years now, I am still amazed at the number of video tools that do not include user's guides with them. This applies mainly to the freeware tools, as that is what I generally search for.

I have been doing video editing for 20+ years. I have worked with software costing thousands of dollars, but I find the freeware tools work quite well for almost all of my needs these days. I can figure out most software with my eyes closed. There are, however, a lot of newbies who just don't have a clue what they're doing.

You, the authors, would know better than anyone how to use your creations. If you can create the software itself, it seems to me that creating a manual would be comparitively easy. I see comments from newbies who have tried a piece of software, but couldn't figure it out, and couldn't find a guide, so they went on to something different. Do you really want users to toss off your software simply because you didn't take the time to write a simple user's guide?

So, as a programmer AND a user, I beg you, please include a user's guide with your software.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Not news, but anyway.

FWIW, most programmers I have known have a very poor grasp of the English language, and are even worse when it comes to English as it is writ (this has nothing at all to do with outsourcing, I am talking about people born and raised in English speaking countries). The same holds for writers in other languages.

This is why software companies employ technical writers.

I have read many of the guides here, and the quality is very varied. From the well written to the well meaning, what it really shows is that some people can write guides, and write them well, and some people can barely scrawl their name on the page, even though they write great software.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM