VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi. I’m extremely new to this. I bought a Panasonic SDR-H40 Palmcorder a few months ago and am just now trying to burn some video to dvd.

The problem is I have a laptop with Vista 64-bit and the Panasonic Software included (VideoCam Suite) will not work on this computer.

I have dvd burning software — DVDFabGold, which I have used for backing up dvds, and DVD MovieFactory for Toshiba, which came with laptop and I have never used it. I also have AShampoo Burning Studio 6.

I have transferred the files from the camcorder to the laptop and they are .MOI files. So I need to know what to do to get them ready to burn on a dvd. If there’s some kind of software I should buy that isn’t terribly expensive, I’m willing to do that. I see lots of other conversion softwares but they don't list .MOI as an option.

Any advice is appreciated, but also maybe explain it like I’m 5 since I have never done this before.

Thanks in advance for your willingness to help. Thank you thank you thank you.

Brooke
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    There should be both .MOD and .MOI files there. Rename the extensions to .MPG so you can play them on your computer. It's really the MOD files you should be concerned with, they're the ones with the video in them.

If you want the simplest way to make a DVD, use ConvertXtoDVD to convert your files to DVD. Worth the $50 and you can evaluate the software before buying.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Soopafresh
    There should be both .MOD and .MOI files there. Rename the extensions to .MPG so you can play them on your computer. It's really the MOD files you should be concerned with, they're the ones with the video in them.

If you want the simplest way to make a DVD, use ConvertXtoDVD to convert your files to DVD. Worth the $50 and you can evaluate the software before buying.