VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi there. I am brand new to this web site. I have done SOME research before coming here, like using Google and all that. There are a LOT of url's and such that come up when using Google, but after clicking on over 10 of these, and reading on web sites about this model of dvd player (Philips DVD player DVP642), I still have not found the exact answer that I am looking for. So, here we go:

Fist off, I want to say that I love this player, but can be very tricky ! For example, if you see a garbled picture, you need to hit the "system menu" button TWICE and it fixes it. It doesn't show that in the Operator's Manual! Now, to my question. Sometimes, when I put a CD-R in the player, with an .avi file it will automatically play the movie without showing the start-up menu (with the title(s) of the movie on it) , and then you have to click "ok" to play the movie. However, when it AUTOMATICALLY plays the movie, the screen size on the screen is FULL screen, or very close to full screen. I like that very much! However, it does not do that all the time. Sometimes, right after you power up, it brings that menu up, and then i have to click on "ok" and it plays. NOW, when that happens, the screen size is reduced to only show the movie in widescreen edition, AND it is only 1/3 of the screen size... so the movie is so tiny, even on a 32" TV. Please help me fix this problem. Like i said before, when the movie plays right away, after hitting the power button on (assuming you have the disc in already) then it plays fine. Thank you.
    JUSTIN
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Try the zoom button on the remote.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM