VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Greetings all!

First of all, let me just express my gratitude for this website and this excellent forum. It has provided me with LOTS of useful information already

On-topic:
    I've written a subtitle for a DVD using Subtitle Workshop. I saved it in srt-format. I used AutoGK to convert the DVD to xvid, and would like to permanently add subtitles to this file.The problem is that after I've uses AutoGK to add the subtitle (Ctrl+Function8), the subs doesn't break right as opposed to playing the xvid with the srt-sub in VLC or Media Player Classic.

I am completely new to subtitling and authoring of any kind, so please bear with me, yeah?

I went to a lot of trouble trying to break the subs in the most fitting places in Subtitle Workshop. I did this by using the "Smart line adjust" and "Set maximum line length", and then manually correcting the entire subtitle. I managed to get the subtitle to span across two lines most of the time, sometimes three lines, as some people talk really fast.
    However, when I view the end result after adding the sub with AutoGK, the sub breaks too early, and sometimes it's broken into 5 lines, which isn't really optimal viewing.

Any idea how to correct this? I haven't tried mucking around with the subtitle options in Advanced Settings, as I don't fully understand the options. I'm thinking of the checkboxes Display only forced subtitles and Use external subtitles

Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Hi-

There's nothing you can do about that in AutoGK. You'll have to do it to the subs themselves before adding them to the video. The lines are sometimes too wide for the video - too many letters per line. Either make the lines shorter (not as wide), or maybe use smaller size letters (change the font size). Maybe choose a narrow font to use so you can fit more letters per line.