VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Ok so i went on a couple vacations and want to put together a blu-ray version and (or) dvd version of the footage i took. BUTTTT before i do that i want to edit it all up, put music to it and some subtitles narration etc..

Camera is a Canon Vixia HF100

and i am trying to use Sony Vegas 8.0 pro

I am a complete noob at all this HD stuff, but i want to get the files working in Vegas so i can edit them and then burn them. What do i need to do?

When i try importing it (after i import the files to my hard drive from the camera) Vegas will say its an unknown format or incompatible etc.. the files are .MTS

any help would be appreciated, Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    thank you for the reply, i understand that walk through its very informative, however i have heard of people editing the MTS file directly from the camera to vegas with out converting anything, is this possible?
    Quote Quote  
  3. maybe they had a sony camera?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    That's it. Vegas is still Sony-centric, to the detriment of other camera owners. I guess they think it'll contribute to sales of Sony camcorders or something.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    ok so i did the walkthrough, i installed the lagarith codec, when i played the avi on windows media player it was very slow and choppy, and the sound was very very stuttery, and a 14mb MTS file thats like 5 seconds long turned into a 1gb AVI file... is that normal lol?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have the Canon HF100 and am able to import AVCHD (.mts/m2ts) files into Vegas 8b no problem. I just plug the camera into my computer via USB, the bundled Pixela ImageMixer automatically detects the camera and imports the files as m2ts files. I can import these directly into Vegas 8b.