VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hey, I don't know if this is where I should put this or not, but heres my question:

I'm currently 16 (almost 17) and almost done high school, I've been editing and such since 2002, I have made a few home movies, ripped some DVD footages and made music videos out of them and such with programs such as Sony Vegas, Photoshop etc,. I know these arn't industry standards but I'm trying to learn avid atm. (and I know it's alot harder then Vegas, I really don't know why they have you use certain editors, I can do almost anything in Vegas)

I understand most aspects of video editing; frame rate, colour spaces, aspect ratios, interlaced/progressive and codecs such as XVID, MPEG4, h.264 etc,

as you can see I'm pretty limited to video editing only.. is this the only skill I would need to advanced in video industries?

I enjoy editing alot and would like to advance in this field.

Any advice on what I should be studying or reading up on to get more into the video industries? Any sites that teach you what actually goes on inside and study what it's like when it's time to edit, how the editor works with the client and such?

Also, I heard you don't need a film degree to get into the buisness, just the know hows, but it gives you a kick start.
    Is there any editing courses I could take immediately that don't require a High School Diploma and teaches me the ins and out of how to work as an editor on job sites and such?

I'm probably in over my head here, but hey it doesn't hurt to be enthusiastic about stuff! Just as long as I don't run out blindly in front of that mac truck.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    It's who you know, not what you know, sonny-jim.

That's the way this evil world works.