VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Blu Ray vs AVCHD?

I am confuse.

Anyway, I have a High Defination video camera that records to tape, which mean it can do blu ray. However, i wanted to change to a harddisk based high defination, it seems my only choice is to go with AVCHD.

Can someone tell me am i losing out a lot in terms of quality with AVCHD? I am no proffesional, i just want to archive my family video and play it with great details in my plasma tv.

Other than that, can I do blu ray recording on a DVD-R DL?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    last i looked, AVCHD was at around 15000kbps whereas HDV is 25000
    whether or not you can determine the difference is up to your eyes and setup
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by kelvin1704
    Blu Ray vs AVCHD?

I am confuse.

Anyway, I have a High Defination video camera that records to tape, which mean it can do blu ray. However, i wanted to change to a harddisk based high defination, it seems my only choice is to go with AVCHD.

Can someone tell me am i losing out a lot in terms of quality with AVCHD? I am no proffesional, i just want to archive my family video and play it with great details in my plasma tv.

Other than that, can I do blu ray recording on a DVD-R DL?
    BluRay is a DVD disc standard. Allowed codecs are MPeg2, VC-1 and H.264 AVC.

I think you are saying your current camcorder is HDV which is 25 Mb/s MPeg2 based within a DV structure.

AVCHD is a form of H.264, 15 Mb/s max currently.

The advantage to stay with what you have HDV.
    - Depending on the camcorder, HDV is a higher quality format currently than consumer AVCHD.
    - MPeg2 suffers less generation loss than h.264. Your finished DVD will have higher quality.
    - HDV gives you an immediate backup --- the tape. Blu-Ray DVD authoring is limited currently. Tape makes a good archive until you are ready to author BluRay and makes a good backup even then.