VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'm new to Avisynth and am doing some simple editing. I had a couple questions.

(1) When I am doing my editing of joining and cropping videos, I want to resave the output. Do I open the script.avs in Virtualdub and just capture the AVI again? If something is already compressed, is there any default setting to keep the compression the same. I am guessing I will have some loss to my video since I am editing and resaving again, but I was trying to find the best way to save the new output with less loss and keeping the file roughly the same size. Or do I just configure the compression type according to the size I want.

(2) When I capture clips with my PVR, I get the same black bars around the edges of my video. I want to create an AVIsynth script to crop out the black bars and resize my video. I also use the same AS@L5 two-pass Xvid compression and was wondering if there was any way to automate that so I don't have to always save some file as the first pass, and then save another file as the second pass to get my output. Just trying to reduce the redundancy of my clips . Thanks!

(3) What is the difference between LancosResize and Lancos4Resize?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by jwfc
    (1) When I am doing my editing of joining and cropping videos, I want to resave the output. Do I open the script.avs in Virtualdub and just capture the AVI again?
    Capture isn't the right word but yes, you open the AVS script in VirtualDub and AviSynth passes frames one by one to VirtualDub.

Originally Posted by jwfc
    If something is already compressed, is there any default setting to keep the compression the same.
    No. AviSynth decompresses each frame, does its processing, and then passes uncompressed frames to VirtualDub. You have to select what compression codec you want for your output within VirtualDub.