VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi I am new to video capture/tv tuner devices and have been trying to understand the model I have which is a Winfast TV USB II delux. I was under the impression that the picture when say viewing as a tv would be better that a tv set would give. The size of the window is so small and therefore the output also when I capture is not great. I have fiddled with everything to get a better result but I am afraid I am getting nowhere. The video captures are good enough from the vcr for youtube video uploads but nothing more. Is this dependant on using a better quality cable from the vcr to the capture device?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Nope, not quite perfect ... some devices are better than others

For you, vlc > ctrl + A , select capture device by name, and if audio is processed by on board audio, then default should work.

Then once you have the picture (video) playing in vlc, simply double click in the playing video to change to full screen.

Bit more tinkering, but thats just the basics.

As for capture, preview, and quality recordings, it comes down to the device driver, software being used, and of course, the quality of the signal.

If you have the audio for tv coming into the usb device, you should split the signal into separate video and audio inputs, and pass the audio to you system line-in, not on the capture device, this should improve the picture quality.

For this, any device that connects to the antenna, which can split the video and audio to separate cables would give better results, tv with a/v outputs, a vcr, topset box.

I would also consider boosting the processor to over 2ghz for usb capture devices, or use a suitable compressor when considering the device specs required > http://www.leadtek.com.tw/eng/tv_tuner/specification.asp?pronameid=153&lineid=6&act=2

And welcome to the forum rapattack
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM