VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Sorry I am new to digital tv and set top boxes so I want to know if I can use my set top box to record onto my computer digital tv. Oh and view digital tv via the pc. I hope I am putting it right. I have a Winfast TV USB II deluxe and am able to see the analogue channels that are being fazed out in Australia next year maybe the digital channels don't show up.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thats not a problem, dvb topset box's have a/v output jacks via rca.

So long as the tv can see the digital channels via rca or antenna input , so should the capture device your currently using.

The only thing as you may have noticed or may have already experienced here in the au, is dvb signal lockups ... usb capture devices don't take these issues too kindly.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Ah an aussie is here ...thanks! Yeah digital tv here is not so good is it. I also can't get sbs via the set top box. If I turn it off then I get sbs....very odd and it is not just me. 2 other neighbours that have better brands have the same problem.
    Ah yeah a friend did say that usb tv tuners are not as good as firewire and internals maybe. Luckily I didn't dish out any $$ for it. It was found out when trash hunting so I am happy really with what I have and if I can get more out of it then even happier.
    Thanks!!!
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Well I actually do dvb installations, and to get any real improvement you need to do a few things.

If antenna is older than 15 years, I would suggest replacing it with a new and larger model to improve in signal gain collection ... and if near power line's, try boosting the height to get above them if possible.

The cable from antenna should be the heavier duty coaxial as it has far less loss of signal over its length, unlike the cheaper cable.