VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    Looking through my remaining fresh media pile and found that i still had some Ritek's left! I've long since ceased using Ritek because the media they started using a while back was garbage along the likes of Princo.

This however was some of the media sold under the Ritek brand back when Ritek was still considered GOOD. From the media I.D thingy in DVDinfopro these appear to be Ricoh japan, specifically "RICOHJPNR01".

I actually have a few back-ups using these discs and decided to do a full-scan(DVDinfopro) for errors. So far they look perfectly fine and held up well over the years.

So is Ricoh reliable? Any input would be appreciated.

Edit: By the way, i've run out of TYs. That is why i'm considering using these.
    Quote Quote  
  2. The root of all evil träskmannen's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I have no experience with those myself but there seems to be a lot of comments on them, read more here.
    In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Ricoh is considered a low quality manufacturer. We don't recommend them.
    If you want to use them, use them sooner rather than later. Some websites suggest that unburned discs do have a finite shelf life that is much lower than when data is burned to them. If this is correct, it would not be in your best interest to delay using this media if you just want to use it up.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    They could be okay if they werent from Ritek!!!
    *** Now that you have read me, do some other things. ***
    Quote Quote  
  5. Used a ton of them a couple years back. Was a very reliable media code for me, across several brand names, including Ritek.
    If God had intended us not to masturbate he would've made our arms shorter.
    George Carlin
    Quote Quote