VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Does any one know how to transfer shows/content from my Directv Hd DVR to my pc? I have not attempted it yet but i'm just looking for a starting point.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Starting point is S-Video + audio to a capture card.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    what is a capture card? i'm sorry i'm really new to all this. haha
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    and where do i get one?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Best thing to do is buy a standalone dvd recorder. Connect the s-video cable and the audio cables. Burn shows/content to dvd-rw. Finalize dvd-rw. Import dvd into pc, using DVD Shrink. Backup to Hard Drive Folder. If you are burning HD from Directv, use IfoAR2WS to change the AR flag to 16:9 format. Then burn the Hard Drive Folder from DVD Shrink to a blank dvd using Imgburn. Very easy and results are almost as good as the original HD feed. Reuse dvd-rw to burn new shows/content.

Otherwise, you can learn how to hack your dvr and import the feed directly into your computer and keep the original signal. But as far as I'm concerned, that's too complicated and if you make a mistake you'll mess your hd-dvr up.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Originally Posted by justinflnyt
    what is a capture card? i'm sorry i'm really new to all this. haha
    A capture card comes in two types, Internal and External.

Internal ones are normally PCI cards that have composite video input, s-video cable, audio inputs and sometimes firewire inputs. Uses one PCI slot on the motherboard.

External ones are normally little boxes that have the same inputs as an internal one but connects to the pc via a usb cable. Normally not as good as internal cards.

If you are new to all this, buying a standalone dvd recorder is really your best bet.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Search PM